Skip to content

Back into writing after minor heart surgery.

April 25, 2009
tags:

Having heart surgery, no matter how minor, sure puts a stop on your life for a while. Actually, it’s been a damn nuisance more than anything, and for that I give a big vote of thanks to modern science. Only a couple of years ago, the investigation and rerouting of the electrical paths inside my heart, using wires and X-rays and drugs, wouldn’t have been possible at all. And if my heart had jolted into such racing tachycardia on an operating table, the doctor would have been delivering bad news to my family.
So, I am spending the month giving thanks for all the wonderful things that have happened in my lifetime, and feeling glad I wasn’t born in the historical eras I write about. Back then, I would have been diagnosed as having a female’s nervous disposition and been bled with leeches to reduce my heart flutters and slow my constitution. Shudder!
Women, even in Victorian times, were banned from practicing medicine, unless they were trained by a father or brother to be as their nurse or assistant. A woman could be burned at the stake as a witch, or socially ostracized, if she publicly displayed her knowledge of healing.
And yet, here in 2009, my cardiologist was a young woman and my nurses were often young men. Strapping young men, I might add, not that I was supposed to notice in my calm and resting state!
Definite role reversal. And a good thing, too, I say! I wouldn’t go so far as to say I am an extremist feminist, but along with most women, I do abhor the appalling way women have been treated over the ages. About time there was a change!
Anyway, let’s all be grateful we are alive and writing, and get back to work!
Suzi Love

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

