Skip to content

April 1, 2014

At the bottom of Haymarket I picked up a strong, jolly young damsel, and taking her under the arm I conducted her to Westminster Bridge, and then in armour complete did I engage her upon this noble edifice. The whim of doing it there with the Thames rolling below us amused me much. Yet after this brutish appetite was sated, I could not but despise myself for being so closely united with such a low wretch.

10 May 1763, James Boswell, Boswell’s London Journal, 1762-1763 (via ladycashasatiger)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

